watercolour washes…

It has been so long since I’ve sat down and painted, I honestly can’t remember the last time I did. I’ve always liked watercolours, and while on Pinterest lately, I’ve been drawn in by the beautiful, flowing, and organic works I’ve found.

I decided to give it a go for myself. I bought this sketchers’ pocket set of watercolours by Winson & Newton. The little set is nice and compact, and comes with 12 colours and a little paint brush. I was so excited to try it out, I just couldn’t wait!

 

I created a few colour charts first off, to really get to know my new paints. Even thought this set is classed as Student Grade, I was really impressed by how much pigment there was in the washes.

Then I watched a few YouTube tutorials. There are so many to choose from, but I particularly like this one by The Frugal Crafter, and these ones by Elizabeth Pontivik.

My work is so stiff, compared to what I generally like, but I’m sure with a bit of practice, I’ll loosen up a bit. Today I’ve planned to go on a picnic with Reags, I want to take my watercolours along and paint “in the field”. Maybe that will help me find the free flowing style that I like so much!

Leave a comment