marie antoniette mobius…

I love quick, one skein knits! That instant satisfaction of a finished item is just thrilling! When I laid my hands on this gorgeous 10 ply merino wool by Manos del Uruguay, I knew I’d have to start working with it straight away. The colourway is ‘Marie Antoniette’, hence my project name.

I referenced my Jo Sharp Modern Knits pattern book, and found a simple twisted cowl that would work wonderfully with my single skein. I figured out that I only had 2/3 of the recommended yardage, so I cast on 141 stitches and would work until I ran out of wool.

Before using 1 stitch to join in the round, I carefully gave my cast-on a single twist. This means that my cowl will have this permanent curl, it will never lay flat. This shape actually has a name, it’s called a ‘mobius strip’, and it’s a one-sided object. I think it’s pretty neat!

I worked the entire cowl in seed stitch, which makes a lovely, squishy fabric that holds its shape well. I also like that with my number of stitches, I got a faint stripe effect due to the kettle dyed wool.

There were a few inconsistencies in my skein, which you can see above. I guess that is to be expected with hand crafted yarn. I don’t mind it too much, it gives a little character.

I worked until I only had enough yarn to cast off. My cowl is about 28cm wide, and long enough to loop around my head, and fit snuggly against my neck. It’s just starting to get cold here, I can see this cowl getting a lot of use!

2 thoughts on “marie antoniette mobius…

  1. Pingback: two little FO’s… | this girl has knits

  2. Pingback: mmmay 16 week two | madebymitty

Leave a Reply

