strawberries & cream beanie…

After I posted a picture of my blue snowflake beanie on my Instragram, a friend of mine asked if I could knit one for her. With no other stranded knitting projects on my list, I took the opportunity to practice some more.

This is the same pattern as I used last time, with a few alterations. I went up a needle size, and increased the stitch number. This made my slightly tight beanie, much larger and slouchier. When I knit the ribbing, it was way too loose, so after I finished the beanie, I went back to try and un-ravel the cast on. Lesson learnt. It doesn’t just un-ravel the same as when your ripping from your needles (probably why the ‘provisional cast-on was invented!). So, I had to cut the ribbing off, close to where I started the colourwork, and slowly pick up the live stitches. It’s still a little loose, but I think it will be fine.

The wool is my favourite work-horse, Luxury from Bendigo Woollen Mills, in Cream and Brick. This wool is so soft, and a dream to knit with, I just love it!

I feel like I’m getting better at stranded knitting, I’ll have to have a look for some more patterns that I can practice on. Maybe some mittens!

Leave a Reply

