boyfriend’s beanie…

I finished knitting up this beanie for Reags a few days ago. It took me a little longer than it should have, as I wasn’t working off a pattern, and had to pull it apart a few times..

The reason I wasn’t using a pattern, is because Reags wanted something rather specific. Very slouchy, with a short ribbed band, and buttons.

During the photo-shoot, I tried the beanie on, and didn't want to take it off!

During the photo-shoot, I tried the beanie on, and didn’t want to take it off!

I love the look of buttons on a beanie, but most of the styles I mulled over for inspiration just had buttons sewn onto a continuous band. I wanted the buttons to look as if they actually had a purpose on the beanie, so I made my band flat, and sewed it together to make a little flap at the side. With the buttons stitched on top of the flap, it looks like they are there to keep the band together, which I really like!

I was fooling myself, when I thought I could start the decreasing and figure out, in my head, how to do it evenly. I ended up with a right mess, it was uneven, and looked terrible. Lucky, I remembered reading about an app (thanks Dayana for blogging about it!), that figures out an even decrease/increase for you! Zero brain power required! It’s called “KnitEvenly” and is available in the app store for around $2.99. It’s a brilliant little app, and I couldn’t have finished the beanie without it.

I used my favourite wool from Bendigo Woollen Mills, 8ply Luxury in Navy Blue. It’s great because it’s super soft, and doesn’t itch. I’m planning on writing the pattern up soon, and I’ll have post it on my Ravelry account. If you’d like to give it a go, pop on over and download it. Just remember, it hasn’t been tested, so knit at your own risk!

One thought on “boyfriend’s beanie…

  1. Pingback: first time stranded knitting… | this girl has knits

Leave a Reply

