spreading the knitting love…

Me, and 2 of my students, Claire and Farzarna

Me, and 2 of my students, Claire and Farzarna

I’ve had a few conversations around the office about knitting (as you do!), and most of the people I talk to often say “Oh, I wish I could knit..” I always come back with “You can! Let me teach you!” So, for the past few weeks, I’ve been teaching some of the girls to knit during our lunch break! I am so very proud of my “students”, and I wanted to show off their progress.

Although Claire knew a little about knitting (from her mum), she had never actually learnt how to do it. After she got the hang of casting on, Claire has been improving out of sight. She mastered garter and stockinette, and even dabbled in a 2 x 2 rib. Over the weekend, she put aside her “practice” yarn, and started to make her first scarf. Today, she asked me if it was OK to work on more than one knitted project at a time. Of course, my answer was a resounding YES!

Farzarna had no pre-knowledge of knitting, she was a true beginner! She was so excited to get started, and the concentration on her face was almost comical. Each day, she’d turn up to work and whip out her knitting to show me. I was really impressed at how quickly her knitting sampler was growing. As you can see, she’s trying out a few stitch patterns, which I think is a great thing to do, as you can really see the difference between each stitch.

It is really interesting teaching the girls, because they both understand directions differently. Farz remembers things like “wrap the wool from right to left”, where Claire feels more comfortable with “wrap the yarn under, then over”. I do most of my knitting without thinking now, and to help the girls understand what to do, I’ve had to break each step down, which I’ve really enjoyed.

I am so happy that I’ve been able to share knitting with the girls, it really makes me feel good that I have passed this craft onto someone else. To see them improving each week just makes me warm and giddy! I can’t wait to see what they create, and where their imaginations take them!

 

2 thoughts on “spreading the knitting love…

  1. Hannah Ackroyd

    Ooh passing on skills is always rewarding! Especially when they are so keen to show you their progress! Keep up the good work! Everyone looks like they are doing a really good job!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: share that knitting bug… | this girl has knits

Leave a Reply

