justine’s baby blanket…

It seems like there is always a little baby somewhere in my life that I can make presents for. I really enjoy making gifts for babies, I imagine them growing up and saying things like “I’ve had this dolly since I was born”, or the mums and dads saying “Aunty Sam made this for you!”, when I am clearly not a related Aunty!

I met Justine at work a few years ago, and we became close friends very quickly. She’s got a wicked sense of humour, and I love her to bits. When she told me she was expecting a baby, I was giddy with happiness for her! I started to think about things to make for her, and I settled on a blanket.

You may remember a while ago, I wrote a post on how I dye wool with food colouring. Well, this was the intended project!

I knew I wanted this blanket mostly white, with splashes of bright colours mottled throughout. Justine doesn’t know if she’s having a boy or a girl, so I kept this blanket gender neutral.

Some of the pictures are a little warm in colour, but this picture is probably the best representation of the actual colour.

I made this blanket using a basic Granny Square pattern, round after round after round. I really like this method of creating a blanket, there is little to no concentration required, and I could work on it in front of the TV, or in the car, without the need of referring to a pattern.

The size of the blanket was determined by how much wool I had (400 grams). Once I started to run low, I ran a slip stitch around the edge for a border. The blanket ended up being about 90cm square, after blocking.

I love how it turned out. It’s squishy, and very warm! The colours are bright, and I love how they pooled in some areas. The wool I used is 100% machine washable, making it easy to clean, and the “dye” I used is just food colouring, so no nasty chemicals were needed.

I can’t wait to see bubba laying on it, squawking his or her lungs out, as I’m told they do!

PS: I think she’s having a little girl!

5 thoughts on “justine’s baby blanket…

  1. Pingback: dyeing wool with food colouring… | this girl has knits

  2. Hannah Ackroyd

    Oooh this is so pretty! And what a lovely idea for a gender-neutral blanket! When I have kids, I wouldn’t want to find out what I was having, so it’s always handy to find lovely versatile makes like this to remember! It looks amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

