baby bear beanie & blanket…

A friend of mine at work has recently noticed that I can knit and crochet. She asked me, ever so kindly, if I could “make me (her) a new born sized beanie for a friend, and would it be too much trouble to have it by next week..?! Oh, and can you do another one for a 1.5 year old, also by next week??” Of course, I agreed, I’m always up for a challenge!

Cute cute cute!

                       Cute cute cute!

I searched the internet for a chunky-style pattern, knowing that it would work up quickly. I decided on this pattern from PoshPatterns, as it has instructions for several different sizes. After a quick dash to the shops and 4 balls of Patons Inca yarn in hand, I got to work… and managed to misread the 3rd round of the pattern, resulting in something that looked more like a sad pot holder, rather than a cute beanie. I pulled it apart and started again. This time, I used two strands of wool together, to give a little more substance to the beanie.

The finished item doesn’t look exactly like the picture on the pattern, and I’m not too sure why, but I have no doubt it will be fine. I haven’t finished the other beanie yet, that’s this weekends project, but I will show you as soon as I’m done.

I’m still working on the baby blanket… I’ve figured that I don’t have enough of the hand dyed yarn to make it big enough to wrap baby in, so I found some yarn that matches perfectly with the other pinks in the blanket. I think I’ll do a couple of rounds in pink, then continue with the rest of the yellow/pink, then do a boarder of the solid pink. I still find myself staring at this blanket, marvelling over the gorgeous colour changes. I love how it is so simple, but looks so complex.

I can’t wait for it to be finished and gifted!

 

Leave a Reply

